Monday, 5th April 2010

Standard

Here we are at L’Ile de Bouchard after a long day driving.  We left Montreuil just after ten and stopped twice on the way for coffee and lunch.  We were surprised to pay 1.19 euros per litre of diesel and 2.10E for a litre of milk, but couldn’t be helped.  Even worse was the 43E toll just outside Tours, so we’ll try to avoid that auto-route in future.

Got to drive the van for the first time after morning break and had a bit of a shock when dog’s head in the way made me move left foot and pressed down on brake instead of clutch! Van stopped almost immediately and had lucky escape, without any cars crashing on the back.  Needed Adonis’s quick thinking to put on emergency lights, back into first gear and build up speed on hard shoulder to get on road again.  I thank my lucky stars yet again!  I kept my left foot under clutch for the rest of my turn on wheel until lunch time.  Nice rolls of cheese and salami and back on road, with Adonis driving again.  No further incidents took place and we are now safe and rested at staggeringly beautiful campsite near Chinon, right by the edge of the river Vienne.  Sat outside facing the setting sun with a glass of wine and cooked chili con carne and rice, which was enjoyed by all.  Washed up, took Bramble for walk along river bank and took lovely pictures of willows, barges and path along the way in the etherial dusk light: can’t wait to see them on big screen.

The only disappointment here seems to be the lack of hot water on taps and showers and Pepo wasn’t very impressed with his luke-warm wash in lady’s showers, as the gents’ were locked.  Still, it’s only us and a bloke from Cornwall, so can’t expect all facilities to be working.  It feels almost a privilege to be here, with the campsite all to ourselves.  Might stay another night: it’s so gorgeous!

Pepo’s watching Pirates of the Caribbean on portable telly, Adonis is snoring away peacefully and I will follow shortly after a little read of David Copperfield!  Good night!

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

