Ile des trois Rois, Les Andelys, Sunday 18th April 2010

Standard

We were sorry to leave the idylic and gorgeous campsite at Neun-s-Beuvron, the woodpecker, cuckoos, swallows and the young travellers with their five noisy dogs!  Nevertheless, we needn’t have worried as we have found yet another treasure amidst the French countryside, right on the shore of the River Seine.  We are now at medieval Andelys, on an stupendous campsite called L’Ile des Trois Rois, and we couldn’t get closer to the river without actually being in it: pitch 98 with lots of room and nice couples at either side, one Dutch on the right and one British (from the Ile of Wight) on the left.

There is a lake on the other side that is full of fish! This could really be a good site for us at half term as it’s near the tunnel, it’s sunny and there’s lotsto do!  The worst thing will be going back!

View of the River Seine from our pitch at L'ile des Trois RoisView of Chateau Gaillard from Ile des Trois Rois campsite

The village is full of wonderful Tudor-style houses and I couldn’t stop taking pictures of them, the river and the gorges beyond.  I’ve read the leaflets about the history of the castle or Chateau Gaillard and the rivalry between Richard the Lion Heart and Philip Augustus in the 12th century and how the poor local people were shut out and starved to death in the winter.  It does make you shudder a bit and feel sorry for the locals of the time and a bit guilty about being able to enjoy such a glorious little town as this.  I would like to see that painting by Tattegrain of the ‘Useless’ as these people were known.  Still, I’m glad we found this little jewel in the heart of the Eure and would love to come back for a longer stay.

We’ve just had a lazy dinner of pizza bought at Carrefour yesterday and I’m just trying to gather up the necessary enthusiasm to do the washing up, but first I must finish my glass of Coronas Crianza…

View of Chateau Gaillard from Ile des Trois Rois campsite

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

