Portiragnes,Thursday, 15th April 2010

Standard

View from coastal path at Port Vendre

Lovely sunny day! Got up a bit earlier than usual, had breakfast, washed up, Pepo walked Br. and Adonis and I got van ready for departure at 9.45 am after saying our good-byes to abuelo and abuela. We stopped for coffee at a beautiful Spanish aire at Montseny, with an arboretum, picnic area and wonderful facilities, including showers and clean toilets.  I’ll definitely stop there again if en-route stop is needed in the future in that area between north-east Spain and south-east France.

Adonis insisted on driving all the way, with another stop at lunchtime, just north of the border at a charming little town called Port Vendre.  After lunch we went for a walk to view the port, town and mountains and took a few pictures.  We set off again before 4 pm and made it to the Canal du Midi at Portiragnes by 6 pm.  It was a warm spring evening and took Br. for walk along lovely canal, where he enjoyed chasing the ball, runners and cyclists!

I’ve just prepared a meal of solomillo, saute potatoes, couscous and the left overs of the Bolognese sauce for Pepo, washed up and hope to do some

crocheting and reading before joining Adonis in bed, who’s ver tired and has had an early night to get over driving feat.  More fun in the sun by the canal tomorrow. I hope!

I almost forgot: today we’ve seen the first motorhome (or vehicle of any kind) with a ‘FIN’ registration number plate. What a long way to come!  Will we ever make it as far as Finland in our travels, I wonder?

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

