Montreuil-sur-Mer, Monday 19th April 2010

Standard

 

Part of Montreuil's city walls

We met lovely people doing the washing up last night and swapped tips and places where to stay.  I must admit that even doing that chore by the Seine wasn’t such a chore after all and, what’s wrong with washing up with a view, anyway?  Another treat was to see the Chateau Gaillard all lit up in the evening, although our camera couldn’t capture its true beauty.

Woke up this morning and, looking through van window, my first sight was the river again, so it was with a heavy heart that I got  up at 9 am thinking we had to leave such glorious campsite.

With Adonis at the wheel again, we set off at around 10.30 am and stopped nearby for diesel and a baguette.  Without further ado, we set off on our way to Montreuil and once again we had to disagree with Mrs Tom Tom (or Pandora, as Pepo and I call it) with her choice of route through Rouen.  Instead of taking junction 22 off the A13, it took us to the next one, which crossed the city itself and what a spaghetti junction that was! I swear we looped the loop at least once before we exited that almighty labyrinth. Good job she knew how to get us out of there for I’d never seen such confusion of roads before in my life!  But then again, she took us there in the first place.

Walk and view around Montreuil's city walls.Part of Montreuil's city walls

Once safely out of that maze, we carried on our merry way and finally got here at about 1.30 pm.  Took Br. for a little stroll by the city walls and had lunch outside.  There’s a big difference in temperature from 2 week ago and it’s lovely sitting out here eating, reading and about to make coffee now…

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

