Les Andelys, Sunday 30th May 2010

Standard

Quaint lamp post at Le Petit Andely

Got up late this morning for a change, at 9.00 am.  Must have been tired from trip and early rising the last couple of days.  Enjoyed coffee and French pastries for breakfast, which saw us quite happily until lunch.

12-pound carp caught at L'Ile des Trois Rois

We cycled to Le Grand Andely to get paper and baguette and noticed everyone was carrying large basket of flower arrangements and then we discovered it is actually Mother’s Day here, the last Sunday in May! 

Weather is a bit breezy with mild spitting, so not warm enough to sunbathe outside van, like we’d have hoped at this time of year.  Still, we enjoyed walk around town and quick look at Our Lady’s Collegiate Church, where just about the whole town was gathering in their Sunday’s best.  We felt a bit scruffy in our shorts and t-shirts, so we didn’t stay long.  Had long glance at pattisseries windows, competing no doubt for the most appetising window dressing, and managed to come back with just the baguette, as planned.

Had usual lunch of mixed charcuterie products, followed by siesta and another cycle ride to Le Petit Andely for a nice cold beer in the old town.

Adonis went fishing before dinner, a bit disappointed because he got his line caught in a tree, but went back after dinner and has just come back running for me to follow with camera to photograph 12-pound carp, which is the first catch of the holiday and no doubt has made his day.

I am not without my little triumph, however, as I’ve just finished sewing together all the squares of my Amish Afghan blanket and I’ll be able to start on border tomorrow.  So a very successful day altogether.   It’s 9.00 pm now, so I’m going to get ready for bed to cuddle up with my book: ‘The Hand of Fatima’ (La Mano de Fatima) by Ildelfonso Falcones, another Christmas present from Adonis.  Good night!

Le Petit Andely

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

4 responses »

    • Hello, Isaac
      Sorry about delay in replying to your comment, but it went straight into the spam box and I’ve only just discovered this. I hope you’ll keep reading and that you’ll find my comments interesting: it’s amazing what you discover when you travel.
      Regards and happy reading
      Fatima

Leave a Reply

