Day of Disaster, Wednesday, 2nd June 2010

Standard

It all started with the best intentions at around 9.00 am when I offered Adon bacon and eggs for breakfast.  The bacon had been under the grill for about 30 seconds when a lot of smoke started to emerge from the top of the grill elements.  I quickly discovered it was a bit of merquez sausage that must have fallen onto it from yesterday’s paella.  As I was trying  window at the  back of van above sink, the top lid of sink, usually clipped back, fell onto a wine glass on draining board and smashed it onto the floor into a hundred pieces at the same time as egg fell into sink and cracked shell, smoke alarm blaring.  I  just didn’t know which one to attend to first.

Visit to Chateau Gaillard

After all that drama, with all the wine glass minute pieces swept away by Adon, battery taken out of alarm, egg retrieved from sink and bit of merguez sausage safely removed, Adon was able to enjoy his bacon and egg and me my croissant.  This was followed by quick shower and a cycle ride to Chateau Gaillard, which was too steep a ride and had to be completed on foot.  Half an hour into our tour of said castle, my mobile phone went off, with Pepo at the other end explaining Bramble had done poo on the new rug in sitting room at home and didn’t know how to clean it!!!  After my expert advice, we finished tour of castle and enjoyed downhill ride into Le Grand Andely, where we purchased long baguette, 2 chicken breast, newspaper and 100 grs of Maccarons, especiality of the area, followed by well deserved cold beer outside one of the lovely cafe-bars in town centre.

 

View from Chateau Gaillard

Back to the bikes,  put shopping in panniers and headed back to campsite.  You can imagine my dismay when on arriving at our pitch and opening pannier, I only found 1/2 a stick of bread!  We still don’t know what happened to the other half.  Much laughter followed and half remaining stick was immensely enjoyed at lunch, together with the Maccarons, which were absolutely delicious, a flavour hard to describe.  That was followed by quick rest on sunbeds, as it was actually hot and sunny, and a swim in the pool, which is no way 25 degrees, as claimed on notice board!  Still, it was a nice way to roud off the afternoon of the most eventful day so far on our motorcaravanning days!

 

Deserted swimming pool at campsite

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

