Les Andelys, 31st May 2010

Standard

It has been a truly wonderful day, with a sunny dawn which enabled us to have breakfast outside.  We then cycled again

Gargoyles at Our Lady's Collegiate

to Le Grand Andely for bread and tobacco and found that most shops and all boulangeries were shut maybe because it is also a  Bank Holiday here too.  We also went back to Our Lady’s Collegiate and took pictures of gargoyles and huge rosette.   When we got back it was overcast and couldn’t sunbathe outside van as we had hoped.

Adonis went fishing and I started crochetting border on my blanket and managed to finish 1 and 1/4 rounds before lunch.  I thought I’d do some reading afterwards, but I fell asleep quickly on big sofa by window in the peace and quiet of this superb campsite.  Adonis woke me up at about 3 pm coming in to fetch sunspray saying it was boiling outside, so I quickly followed to the river bank and enjoyed beer and crisps whilst carrying on with my reading in the sunshine.  So I got to wear my bikini after all and I lay on the sunbed while Adontried to catch some fish, task that was made all the harder by two swans scouting the area.

Big rosette at Our Lady's Collegiate

Pepo phoned while I was cooking my Bolognese sauce saying that Dennis Hopper had died and that Jane Chapman has phoned wanting to meet up with us tomorrow!  Fat chance of that happening unless she rushes down here a.s.a.p.  Still, it’s nice to hear that after all these years she hasn’t forgotten us and it’d be lovely to see her and her family when we get back.

Pepo had two friends round and were going to order Domino’s pizzas, se he seems happy enough and Bramble is up to his usual tricks chewing up magazines, etc.

Just been for a walk round campsite and we were delighted and greatly amused by gardens on mobile homes permanently pitched here and I believe there must be a sort of competition between the owners as to who has the most outrageously and heavily decorated plot, with statues, gnomes, flowers of every description and even a whole set of ‘Snow-White and the Seven Dwarves’!  Truly amazing.

Garden decoration at L'Ile des Trois Rois campsite

Adon’s gone fishing again, but as the sun has set and there’s an evening breeze, I’ve decided to finish off my blanket and carry on with my book.

Another magnificent day!

Garden Decorations

Snow White and the Seven Dwarves!

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

