Sans Souci Campsite, Fresnay-sur-Sarthe, Sunday 11th July 2010

Standard

 

Generous pitch at Sans Souci Campsite

Another jewel of a campsite in a charming village, which we’ll explore better tomorrow morning, as by the time we got here today, at about 12.30 pm, it was already too hot to go exploring.

The wake-up call this morning was a bit unusual, with the church bells ringing for quite some time at 7 am, and we couldn’t go back to sleep after that.  So after breakfast and customary washing up and tidying up, we left St Nicolas de Bliquetuit at 8.45 am.  It was a wonderful straight and clear road, so we made very speedy progress on the D490 and 913/313 roads to junction 25 on the A13 to join A28 with just two junctions on the A28, which cost just over 5  euros, then the D438  to about 15 km south of  Alençon and finally the D310 west to Fresnay-s-Sarthe.

After a very friendly welcome by charming receptionist, we settled on our pitch No 54, very near the river, in which we have already had a couple of swims all together, including Bramble, and I have the paw scratch marks on my back to prove it!

Family swim in Fresnay-sur-Sarthe

So we’ve had a fairly lazy afternoon reading and crochetting, enjoying the shade of our awning and our brand new ground sheet.  Bramble seems to be suffering slightly in the heat, panting more than usual, but we’re making sure he’s in the shade and with plenty of water nearby.

Adonisito is cooking Moroccan lamb and couscous at the moment, and just tried to get TV going for the Football World Cup: the final between Spain and Holland, but without success.  Pity, as I would have liked to watch Spain for the first time in a World Cup final.  Still: just my luck: for once I really wanted to watch it and I am in the wrong place to do so.

I nearly forgot to mention the ’21’ mosquito bites that Pepo’s suffered in the last 24 hours or so.  I got away with just 3 and Adonis with none!  We must be extra vigilant tonight before going to bed and make sure van is free of biting insects in order to avoid suffering tomorrow morning.

And SPAIN HAS WON THE WORLD CUP for the first time EVER!    11.20 pm local time: ESPAÑA!

We watched the match outside reception bar surr0unded by mainly Dutch supporters, so I had to keep down my shouting at the end as I was the only Spaniard around!

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

