Gradignan, Bordeaux, Friday, 16th July 2010

Standard

We are now south of Bordeaux, at a little campsite called Beausoleil.  We arrived just after 1 o’clock, after leaving Dompierreat about 9.45 this morning.

Camping wild under the trees in the Charente

We really enjoyed our little break between La Charante and the cornfield, as it was quiet and warm, if a little windy perhaps.  Adonis spent most of he day fishing, even though he only caught a tiny fish and a baby eel and Pepo and I just read our books and I managed to crochet a lovely Irish rose for the van, which is now above mirror on bathroom door.  We also had a nice swim in the river and we were joined in the evening by a young man and his Alsacian dog called Rita.  He was very friendly and very willing to talk and hard to get rid of and I didn’t enjoy the pile of poo Rita left by the van, which he failed to pick up!

But what I really liked the most was the patisserie, which really is the life and soul of the village, not just selling bread and cakes, but fishing licences and jetons (tokens) for the water supply for motorhomes.

Fishing in Dompierre (Charente Maritime)

After swim in the river we enjoyed our dinner of merguez and mashed potato and then Pepo and I watched a very funny film with Jack Nicholson called ‘About Schmidt’.  Actually, that was the first evening: last night we watched ‘Shanghai Dreams’, which was also very good.

So now south of Bordeaux, this campsite is small and quiet and after lunch we all had a shower and I did the first load of washing of the holiday, so that Pepo can have clean shorts and shirts to take to Béziers.

Adon’s just gone with Bramble to get some tobacco and we are just relaxing here for the afternoon, our last night before Pepo’s departure on the train from La Gare St Jean.

 

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

Leave a Reply

