Montreuil-sur-Mer, Friday 29th April 2011

Standard

Pitch at La Fontaine des Clercs at Montreuil

Here we are again before before our return home for the obligatory visit to the vet.  We arrived at lunchtime after following the A28 and A16 from Broglie, so it was an easy drive all the way.  We were surprised that nobody came to collect the daily fee for the aire, so we saved 5 Euros!

I was hoping to watch the Royal Wedding on television when we got to campsite, but we couldn’t get a reception, so I asked Pepo to tape it for me, which he has, and I look forward to watching it when we get home on Sunday.  I also tried the internet, but the reception was weak and had to knock that on the head too.  So I spent the afternoon reading while Adonis had siesta and then I took Bramble for walk.  Again I was frustrated in my efforts, as walk around ramparts had been closed for maintenance and we couldn’t follow the usual route around city walls that we enjoy so much.

 

City walls at Montreuil-sur-Mer

We took Bramble to the vet at 6 pm and then had a drink outside café on the square, where a storm started raging 2 hours ago and hasn’t stopped since.  We tried to sit it out while we drank, but as it didn’t look like it was going to stop any time soon, we took our chances and ran all the way to campsite, getting drenched in the attempt, but made it back in one piece at least.     It sort of reminded me that this is the place where ‘Les Miserables’ was set, and it did feel pretty miserable. We quickly dried ourselves and heated up chili con carne and rice for dinner.  Pepo phoned while I was getting dinner ready and said he had friends round and sounded very happy.

Montreuil in the rain

 

 

 

 

 

I am going to read some more and then will go to bed.

 

 

 

Montreuil-sur-Mer in the rain

Having a hug with Bramble

Leave a Reply

