Lake Titisee, Black Forest, Germany, Friday 29th July 2011

Standard

 

Soultz Haute Rhin souvenir shop and motorhome aire

 

 

We made very good progress this morning, as we left Deluz just after 8.30 am and made it to south of Colmar by 11 am, for we followed the motorway most of the way (A36) and stopped at Soultz Haute Rhin’s France Passion site to buy some Gewurztraminer wine and look at gifts, but only got one tea-towel and some chocolates to go with wine!?

 

 

 

One of our first views of Germany

We decided to carry on our way to Germany following the D1b and D2 to Neuf Brissach and then the D415/D31 to

Freiburg.  We used the tomtom to get us to campsite and were here for 1.30.  I honestly don’t think we would have found

it without the sat. nav., so for once I was happy to have it, as I didn’t feel too confident reading German road map and signs on road, which I found a bit confusing.  I can’t really explain how excited I felt about entering Germany for the first time in my life.  The best way I can describe it is with the same sense of anticipation that a child has the night before Christmas.  I felt pure joy just crossing the border.  I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed that wonderful childish feeling.

 

 

This sign made us laugh (childish, I know)

 

Our pitch at Lake Titisee campsite

 

We registered with very friendly French young student called Penelpe and then set up, had lunch and siesta, as the weather suddenly changed and rained quite heavely for over one hour.  I took Bramble for a walk at 4 pm through very soggy wood and then had very welcome shower in immaculate block.  After some fiddling about with passwords, we got internet connection and have been on Facebook and Twitter to keep in touch with friends and family.

We’ve enjoyed quiche and Adonis’s just gone to bed after a long day.

 

 

I spoke to Pepo earlier: he’s very happy to have Fred round for company and to do the cooking.  All is good with us.  Gute Nacht.

Lake Titisee and Black Forest in background

Lake Titisee

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

