Dunk Island, Queensland, August 2003

Standard

Dunk Island

During our stay at Mission Beach, we took a water taxi across to Dunk Island, only 4 km away from our resort.  It was a very hot day, too hot to even stand on the sand for more than a few seconds, and we just found it incredible to believe that this was in fact WINTER.  We did our best to stay in the shade and plaster ourselves with sunblock, even though I have olive skin and less likely to burn than my two companions.  It just wasn’t worth taking any risks in a kind of heat I had never experienced before.

Boarding the water taxi from Mission Beach to Dunk Island

All in all it was another very relaxing day, enjoying the wonderful weather, a walk round the island and kayaking in the beautiful still blue waters, where we were even greeted by a sea-turtle as we were gently paddling around.  Unfortunately, the sea-turtle was gone before I could get my camera ready to photograph it, but the memory’s still there of this wonderful sea creature popping its head out of the water to have a look at us!  You just can’t put a price on these things.

The water taxi to Dunk Island from Mission Beach

I must also mention that, being part of the Great Barrier Reef, there is an abundant supply of dead coral already washed up on the beach and which is still protected and must not be taken away.  This, beautiful as it is, also brings the danger of stepping on it, as my two companions did and I remember spending some time trying to extract bits of coral from the sole of their feet.  So watch out where you step, either in the sand or the water, or you’ll be feeling the pain for hours to come.

Dunk Island

There is nothing much more to say, apart from how sorry I am that this beautiful island had to suffer such a tragic fate during last year’s storms, as I know it was heavily damaged and all but destroyed.

Dunk Island

Dunk Island

7 responses »

  1. Hi there and thanks for enjoying our part of the world. I would just like to comment that although the resort on Dunk Island has been damaged and closed, the natural part of the island and Mission Beach are recovering well and back to being beautiful. Also I feel that I should point out that ALL coral (dead and alive) is protected and you can’t just take pieces with you.

    • Hello, David:
      Thank you for stopping by. I am so glad to know that the island is recovering so quickly. I saw the pictures after the cyclone and that’s what brought all the happy and wonderful memories of Dunk Island and Queensland in general. It is a beautiful part of the world and you are privileged for living there.
      I am sorry about the comment about coral. I would never dream of touching any life specimen, but somehow I was under the impression that beach combing was allowed. I shall amend my mistake immediately and delete that paragraph. I do appreciate your feedback, as I would hate to mislead people. Thank you again and keep enjoying paradise.
      Fatima

  2. Memories flooding back now, I remember sitting on the van tearing coral out of my foot! Very painful! Plus the warm, muddy sand… that was nice! Very chillaxed day 🙂

    • Funny you should say that. We seriously considered moving to Australia after we got back to UK. We just loved the healthy outdoor orientated lifestyle, the friendly people, the climate: everything. Ozzies are very lucky people, even if they have to put up with cyclons every now and then.

      • I grew up near a beach, but it wasn’t nearly as beautiful as the beach on Dunk Island.To me, sitting on a beach is the most peaceful and relaxing place on earth. To be able to go to a beach like that daily or even weekly would be such a delight!

Leave a Reply

