French windows, shutters and doors

Standard

I know this is a bit of a lame topic, but I have to admit that over the last two years travelling through France, I seem to have developed an obsession with French windows, shutter and doors, often staring at them for ages and losing my husband in the process of photographing them.

There is not much to say, just that I think they are beautiful and I will understand if nobody else agrees with me or people find the topic boring or uninteresting.

For those of you who might be interested, here are some that caught me eye.

Arles, Provence

 

Arles, Provence

 

 

Arles, Provence

 

Arles, Provence

 

Mers-les-Bains, Le Somme

 

Mers-les-Bains, Le Somme

 

Mers-les-Bains, Le Somme

 

St-Cirq Lapopie, Le Lot

 

St-Cirq Lapopie, Le Lot

 

Rouen

 

Rouen

 

Rouen

 

Tours

 

Tours

 

Tours

 

 

7 responses »

    • This is very weird, I just happened to enlarge these photos one at a time to see how they would look from a reader’s point of view (should they wish to do do) and I think I’ve seen something that looks like a skull on the dormer window of St-Cirq Lapopie. Could you check this for me, please and tell me what you think. Is it me just seeing things? I hadn’t noticed it before. Thank you again.

      • I just looked and yes you are correct there is definetly something there. It does look like a head or skull but I enlarged it further and it actually looks like something standing looking back out the window. My wife thinks it looks like a side profile of someone standing or sitting…. was the house occupied?

      • I’m glad I’m not losing my mind! I don’t know if the house was occupied, but I presume so. It is a working Medieval village, very much alive. Thank you for getting back to me: I really appreciate it. 🙂

  1. Thank you for this kind comment, Steven. When I told Peter I was going to write about it, he said ‘how uninteresting!’, but I wrote it anyway because it’s my blog and I find them fascinating.

Leave a Reply

