Beauty Therapy at Barbotan-les-Thermes Health Spa, Gers, Wednesday 3rd April 2013

Standard
Barbotan-les-Thermes Health Spa

Barbotan-les-Thermes Health Spa

 

I had a bit of a rush this morning, when I realised we hadn’t put our watches and clocks forward yet  (3 days overdue) and it wasn’t until I heard the church bells that I realised it was already 9 am!  Good job we had got up early anyway, so I had time to finish my breakfast and cycle to the Spa at Barbotan, where I had my appointment for a kaolin bath and a facial cleansing at 9.30 am.  It is also very fortunate that it’s a very easy and short cycle ride there, even though the market was on and I couldn’t really cycle on the road that leads to the Spa, so I had to push my bike and walk even faster than my usual pace (which isn’t very slow, I hasten to add).

 

Barbotan-les-Thermes Health Spa

Barbotan-les-Thermes Health Spa

 

I made it on the nick of time with a few minutes to spare and got ready for my treatment, which was prompt and just as heavenly as I expected.

We started with the kaolin bath (€30), which I had never had before.  The very friendly therapist explained how the treatment would proceed and gave me some information about the minerals contained in this very light and white clay as she was brushing my whole body with it, which felt just wonderful, like a hot cream being spread.  After I was covered in kaolin from my neck down, she wrapped me in the plastic sheet I was lying on and switched on the floating bed, making the mattress sink slightly to meet the hot water below, giving a gentle massage which lasted for 20 minutes.  This has to be one of the most relaxing and enjoyable things I’ve done in my life and I would have gone to sleep if it’d lasted any longer.  I was really loathe to leave, but I still had my facial to look forward to.

So after a shower in the same cubicle, I proceeded to my next treatment (€8 for a simple facial) and a different therapist.  I’ve always enjoyed this and they used to be part of my monthly treats once upon a time, but I hadn’t had one in a few years and, again, it was just magical.  I love the scents of the products used and the light finger touch around my eyes, forehead and jaw: another little pleasure in life.

After the treatment, the therapist gave me a leaflet with the Décleor products she used for every step of the treatment: the cleansing milk (with lavender oil essence, orange and kiwi), the exfoliation cream (jojoba and cardamom), the eye lotion and the moisturising cream with flower nectar.  I bought this last one as an extra treat and I look forward to using it in the coming weeks.

All I can say now is that I left the Spa wanting to make another appointment to try other treatments of the many offered there, from thermal waves to manicures: pure heaven!

 

Barbotan

Barbotan

 

The rest of the day has been very relaxing indeed, adding to it that it has been the hottest day of the year for us so far and we enjoyed a bit of sunbathing, wearing shorts, hats and sunblock, as the sun was really biting by mid-afternoon (26°C in the van).

 

Barbotan

Barbotan

 

View from Barthelemy Gardens

View from Barthelemy Gardens

 

Adonis’s caught another carp: this time 18lb (9kg) and I’ve finished another motif for my crocheted tablecloth.  A very productive and fulfilling day all in all.

 

Another carp (18lb - 9kg)

Another carp (18lb – 9kg)

2 more nights to go here at wonderful Barbotan-les-thermes.

 

Pond at Barthelemy Gardens

Pond at Barthelemy Gardens

 

 

Barbotan

Barbotan

 

Barbotan

Barbotan

 

Barbotan

Barbotan

 

Crocheting and relaxing in the sun at Camping Lac de l'Uby, Barbotan

Crocheting and relaxing in the sun at Camping Lac de l’Uby, Barbotan

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

