Camping Lac de l’Uby, Gers Department, Wednesday 9th April 2014

Standard
Beautiful weather at Lac -de-l'Uby

Beautiful weather at Lac -de-l’Uby

 

We have spent a wonderful week here with lots of sunshine and hot weather, reaching 24 ºC with exception of last Thursday, when it rained all day, but luckily it cleared by Friday afternoon and we’ve been wearing shorts and t-shirts for the most part.

 

Enjoying 7 days of fishing

Enjoying 7 days of fishing in the sun

 

This is a magnificent place to relax and that’s mainly what we’ve been doing all week: Adonis fishing (he’s caught 7 carp varying in sizes, the biggest one being about 12 kgs) and I’ve been reading my French magazines and my kindle and crocheting.

 

A successful fishing session

A successful fishing session

A 12 Kg Catch!

A 12 Kg Catch!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the reasons for coming here was for me to enjoy some of the treatments at the Barbotan-les-Thermes Spa and last Saturday, I spent 2 hours there, where I had the marvellous Soin Sérénité or Serenity Treatment, which consisted of a choice of 3 among their essential treatments and I opted for the jet shower, the massaging shower, the massaging bath and the kaolin bath, all fantastic and more than enough to leave anyone feeling like new: it was worth every cent of the €79 that it cost and I’d highly recommend it.

 

A lovely flower display at Barbotan-les-Thermes

A lovely flower display at Barbotan-les-Thermes

 

 

I cycled every morning, either to Barbotan or to Cazaubon, as we are in between these two towns, to get a baguette, cakes and drinks and this morning I had a stroll through Barbotan’s Wednesday’s market, where I bought lots of local produce (all very reasonably priced) as well as a double portion of paella for tonight’s dinner, which was absolutely delicious.

 

Lazy Sunday afternoon at Lac de l'Uby

Lazy Sunday afternoon at Lac de l’Uby

 

One of the highlights of the week for me has been meeting Danielle, a fellow camper and crocheter, and we’ve been showing each other our crocheted items and swapping ideas. She makes small figurines in cotton, which she sells at Christmas markets, and she’s given me one of her elves to hang on my Christmas tree. She caught me by surprise earlier on, so I intend to give her one of my wire bracelets in return. She also told me about these various crafts workshops they do at Barbotan’s Tourist Information Office and this afternoon I joined her on a ‘Quilling’ workshop, making flowers out of thin coloured strips of paper and then turning them into pictures or greeting cards. We were there for 2 ½ hours and the time flew by as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We have swapped email addresses, so I hope we’ll keep in touch. I have to say that all this has been wonderful for my French too as nobody spoke English there!

 

The Quilling picture I made at Barbotan's Tourist Information Office

The Quilling picture I made at Barbotan’s Tourist Information Office

 

We have also enjoyed some stunning sunsets, when every minute seems to be an opportunity for a picture.

 

Camping de Lac de l'Uby 033

 

 

Lac de l'Uby 2014 056 (640x426)

 

 

 

Never too late to fish!

Never too late to fish!

 

 

 

Lac de l'Uby 2014 041

 

 

Tomorrow we’re heading for the lake at Biscarrosse and I hope to stay at the motorhome aire at Gastes. I hope the weather holds!

 

A walk around Lac de l'Uby

A walk around Lac de l’Uby

 

Lac de l'Uby 2014 017

 

Lac de l'Uby 2014 025

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. It sounds like you are having a great holiday…a little relaxing, a little touring and of course a little fishing for your other half. 🙂 Well done with your quilling.

  2. Thank you, Karen. It’s important to find the right balance during a holiday: too little and you’re bored; too much and you end up more tired than before the holiday. I think we got it just right for both of us. Plenty of personal space, but sharing good times too.

Leave a Reply

