Je suis Charlie

Standard

07844089-photo-je-suis-charlie

Today, I would like to take a break from publishing my travel blog to pay my homage to all the victims of the atrocious terrorist attack on the French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo.

If you have been following my blog for a while, you will have realized that most of our travels take place in France, not only because it is our closest neighbour in the continent, but because they have a wonderful attitude towards motorhomers, giving us the freedom to stop just about everywhere, quite often for free, even for the night. The French are blissfully laid-back and I love their attitude of ‘Laisser Fair’.

It is only in the last 5 years that we have discovered what a beautiful and wonderful country France is and how warm and welcoming the French are, always patient to try to understand us and communicate with us in our school French or resorting to English if they can and makes things easier, so I truly felt broken-hearted and appalled yesterday when I heard the tragic news. My heart goes out to the families and friends of those killed and injured in this attack, but also to the whole of the French nation and I really felt very strongly I wanted to write my own little tribute to them all.

I fear that from now own, wherever we are in France, we’ll be remembering this saddest of days, but will continue to enjoy and delight in the marvels of this fine country.

Freedom of speech must be protected at all costs, how else would we have unbiased news in the press and TV and the use of Social Media which we all enjoy so much? Would we have our blogs without it? I seriously doubt it.

So, in the name of Freedom of Speech and those who have died for it, I will post this today.

About fatimasaysell

Travelling is my passion. Ever since I was a young girl I've been wanting to see the world. I studied languages to make this dream possible and I love meeting people from different cultures and countries. Having a motorhome since 2010 has made this possible and I hope I'll be able to retire travelling in one.

8 responses »

  1. I too am Je Suis Charlie and have changed the header on my site to reflect my feelings about this criminal act of war against France. I live only a few miles from Quebec and have many French Canadian friends who are also outraged.

    Vive l’France!

    Jim Zee
    http://vermontverse.com

    • Thank you, Jim. It was a very sad day for the whole world, not just France. You can’t fight pens with guns. It is simply sickening.

      Vive la France! Their national anthems says “Contre nous de la tiranie” and that’s exactly what they’ll do. ❤

    • Thank you for sharing this, Jim. It’s good to know that most of the world is united against terrorism and extremism. They don’t seem to realize that by attacking and killing Christians, Jews, Muslims, Hindus and every other religious or non-religious person, all they are doing is uniting the whole world against them. They are doomed!

Leave a Reply

